Types of HTML

By: Dusty Arlia
Published on July 19, 2012
Last Updated on Friday, July 17, 2015 at 3:26 PM
Total Updates: 4

Here is a list of the different types of HTML you can code your webpages in:

  • HTML 4.01 Transitional
  • HTML 4.01 Strict
  • XHTML 1.0 Transitional
  • XHTML 1.0 Strict
  • HTML5

All browsers support these different types of HTML. When writing the code for your webpage, be aware of the rules for the type of HTML your using. Not following the rules for the HTML standard you choose could cause problems when being rendered in your browser. The HTML standard you follow should be declared in the document type declaration.